Video Highlights - Donegal beat Armagh to win division two

Video Highlights – Donegal beat Armagh to win division two


Donegal clinched a thrilling victory against Armagh, claiming the Allianz Football League Division 2 title with a final score of 0-15 to 0-14 at Croke Park. Under the guidance of local legend Jim McGuinness, Donegal showcased their resilience, overcoming a challenging match to secure silverware once again.

In a tense encounter marked by fluctuating momentum, Donegal found themselves trailing by a point as the game entered stoppage time. However, a determined effort in the closing minutes saw them outscore Armagh by 0-3 to 0-1, with Aaron Doherty delivering the winning kick in the 73rd minute.

Throughout the match, both teams displayed formidable defense, resulting in ten tie scores amidst blustery conditions. Despite facing injuries to key players such as Patrick McBrearty, Ryan McHugh, and Eoghan Ban Gallagher, Donegal showcased their depth and determination to emerge victorious.

Oisin Gallen’s stellar performance, contributing five points, propelled Donegal’s attack, while captain Ciaran Thompson’s leadership and three crucial points from long-range bolstered their momentum. Notably, Jason McGee’s return to the lineup and Luke McGlynn’s first start of the campaign added depth to Donegal’s roster.

Armagh, though resilient, fell short in the face of Donegal’s late surge, ultimately conceding the title. Despite their efforts, Armagh’s struggle to find scores, particularly against the wind, allowed Donegal to capitalize and secure the win.

Looking ahead, Donegal will shift their focus to the Ulster SFC, with a match against Derry scheduled for April 20th, while Armagh will face Fermanagh on April 14th in Enniskillen.


In a thrilling display of skill and determination, Donegal emerges victorious, claiming the Allianz Football League Division 2 title. Led by Jim McGuinness and fueled by standout performances from key players, Donegal’s resilience proves unmatched as they secure silverware in a hard-fought battle against Armagh at Croke Park.

Donegal scorers: Oisin Gallen 0-5 (0-2f, 0-1m), Ciaran Thomposon 0-3, Niall O’Donnell 0-3, Peadar Mogan 0-1, Shane O’Donnell 0-1, Caolan McGonagle 0-1, Aaron Doherty 0-1.

Armagh scorers: Conor Turbitt 0-4 (0-2f), Rory Grugan 0-4 (0-2f), Jarlath Og Burns 0-2, Oisin Conaty 0-2, Stefan Campbell 0-1. Oisin O’Neill 0-1.

Donegal: Shaun Patton; Mark Curran, Caolan McColgan, Ciaran Moore; Shane O’Donnell, Kevin McGettigan, Caolan McGonagle; Jason McGee, Michael Langan; Peadar Mogan, Ciaran Thompson, Luke McGlynn; Aaron Doherty, Oisin Gallen, Niall O’Donnell. Subs: Jamie Brennan for McGettigan h/t, Odhran Doherty for McGlynn h/t, Hugh McFadden for McGee 42, Jeaic MacCeallabhui for McColgan 60, Cathal MacAonghasa for N O’Donnell 61.

Armagh: Blaine Hughes; Peter McGrane, Paddy Burns, Aaron McKay; Jarlath Og Burns, Aidan Forker, Darragh McMullan; Ciaran Mackin, Ben Crealey; Greg McCabe, Rory Grugan, Joe McElroy; Andrew Murnin, Conor Turbitt, Oisin Conaty. Subs: Stefan Campbell for Forker 42, Rian O’Neill for McElroy 49, Oisin O’Neill for McMullan 60, Jason Duffy for Mackin 69.

LiveScores Now Available at


Source link

Team Vitality vs Team BDS 2024 LEC Spring Playoffs Recap Previous post Team Vitality vs Team BDS 2024 LEC Spring Playoffs Recap
Four positives for White Sox despite being swept by Tigers Next post Four positives for White Sox despite being swept by Tigers